No Excuses

Just a quick note here before turning in for the night, that I bought an electric guitar today. I went to Portland Music Company’s store on Beaverton-Hillsdale Highway to check out the selection of used guitars, and tried out one that was tagged $140 – a nice one with pointy symmetrical horns and what looked like dual-coil (humbucker) pickups, two of them. But my wife pointed out that some of the new guitars were even cheaper, so I settled on a white Squire “bullet strat” with three single-coil pickups, for $130. Adding a strap, gig bag, and spare set of strings, brought it up to just under the $200 budget.

For some months now I’ve been thinking of the half-written material I’ve had on the back burners, some of it as old as when I was in high school, and telling myself “I could work on that if I had a guitar.” Now I have a guitar and I’m out of excuses.

One thought on “No Excuses

  1. Well, one slight excuse: this is the first time I’ve had a guitar since around 1991, and twentyfour years is plenty of time to forget just about everything I ever knew about guitar playing. It’s going to take some practice to get the ability back.

    Like

Leave a Reply

